Cherbourg Community Councillors 1997

1991 – The first independent Community Council is elected. The first Council Chambers is a modest building in Fisher Street. Later new Council Chambers are constructed on Barambah Avenue.

Gordon Wragge, Percy Stewart, Paddy Alberts, Bevan Costello (back from left)
Mayor Ken Bone, Ada Simpson, Bert Button (front from left)


Leave a comment


The Cherbourg Memory is an initiative of the Rationshed Museum and brings together the photos, videos, oral history recordings, documents and other artifacts of our lives on this settlement. It a website, an archive, an educational resource, a recording project, a research data-base, a store of the people’s stories and an interactive space for comments and engagement. We encourage the people of Cherbourg, the Indigenous communities in Australia and others who have experience of our settlement to help us create a living archive of Barambah-Cherbourg. So find out a little more about the Cherbourg Memory, discover how you can Participate, or find out how you can Contribute to the development of the Cherbourg Memory.